It is likely that Ashtange Yoga has been around for 5000 years, but it was put back on the map by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois and Sri Krishnamchary in 1927.  Sri Krishnamchary discovered the Yoga Kurunta – a century-old manuscript in which a method was described from thousands of years ago.

  • Ashtanga: The eight limbed or the eight-fold path.
  • Yama (moral code – self possession)
    Niyama (purification and learning)
  • Asana (integration of body and soul through physical activity)
  • Pranayama (control of breathing)
  • Pratyahara (control of senses)
  • Dharana (concentration)
  • Dhyana (meditation)
  • Samadhi (contemplation – the peaceful state of thoughtless awareness)

Ashtanga Yoag, a dynamic sequence of postures that are practised with simulaneous breathing. The postures are all linked by the movement that is called ‘Vinyasa’. By concentrating on the breathing and the linking of movements, a seamless ‘flow’ results. Thanks to this flow, an inner body sensation occurs, through which the mind becomes at peace and gradually eases itself into a moving meditation.